Fatma Sahem

BILINGUAL TYPEFACE DESIGN – PAUSE

PAUSETypography_Page_1

NARRATIVE:

This typeface is a bilingual Sans Serif typeface, which is going to be used for headlines and design purposes. It has good legibility but I think is better used for headlines. This typeface will be seen in logos or business cards, and anyone who has a creative career can use it for their projects. It’s has a modern feel because of the curvy corners and the straight horizontal and vertical lines with consistent thickness. In the glyphs I also integrated the dots in some Latin letters to link the Arabic and the Latin together. The dots are not going to make the Latin letter look Arabic,  but they’re there to add a creative touch that links the two languages and make them unified. The proportions of the letter in both Arabic and Latin are not consistent because each language has different grid rules and they should be respected.

INITIAL SKETCHES:

photo 1

photo 3

photo 2

photo 3

 

DIGITAL PROCESS:

Screen Shot 2013-10-27 at 7.30.18 PM Screen Shot 2013-10-27 at 7.30.23 PM

 

 

Some initial tests using the typeface.

 

 

PAUSETypography_Page_6

 

 

FINAL TYPEFACE:

in this one I have the capital letters with the dots as glyphs.

PAUSETypography_Page_5

ENGLISH ONLY:

PAUSETypography_Page_2

ARABIC ONLY:

PAUSETypography_Page_9

NUMBERS AND SIGNS:

PAUSETypography_Page_7

LEGIBILITY TEST:

PAUSETypography_Page_4

Final thoughts.

I enjoyed this project so much! I didn’t think it would be this much fun to be honest, but I guess I love a challenge and this project was defiantly one. It was really enjoyable to see the process and the final result come together and to see that I am capable of making a typeface, which in the start i thought I would be horrible at. 

My typeface is pretty simple but I faced a lot of critical moments in making some decisions. After taking to my professor, i noticed that the legibility of my typeface is pretty good but the dots in the latin type makes it harder, so I changed those to glyphs and made normal letters. And i think that is a very good decision, so in the future if someone wanted to use my typeface they would have a lot of options to choose from. 

During this project I learned a lot of stuff in illustrator, and I’m really comfortable with the pen tool.

This whole project was challenging but it makes sense, some projects the challenges i face do not make sense and they do not help me improve. And i think my idea and the way i conveyed  it is pretty successful.

If I had the time I would definitely use this typeface and improve it more for normal use. Maybe add more options like bold italic etc. 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 27, 2013 by in typography II.
